Inner Planets: What Are the Inner Planets

the Inner Planets

Each planet is a wholly unique world, mysterious and so amazing. The evolution of astronomy and active space exploration allows you to get into the innermost secrets of space. IN this article, we describe what the inner planets are.

Solar system

According to a scientific hypothesis, our system formed from a dark cloud of gas and dust 4.6 billion years ago. As a result of powerful transformations, the cloud changed into a young system with a central yellow star, planets, asteroids and various cosmic similarities.

Structure of the solar system

Our system contains a star with medium brightness – the sun and 8 classic planets orbiting it in elliptical orbits at different distances. It is interesting to note that until 2006 there were 9 planets in the system, the last being Pluto. But due to discoveries, Pluto was reclassified, and as a result, it was given the status of a dwarf planet along with Ceres, Eris and other similar objects.

By the way, Pluto has the moon Charon, which is half the size of a dwarf planet. Further reclassification of Pluto into a double world is being considered, but today there is insufficient information about the universe’s structure for such a classification.

Asteroid belts separate the inner and outer planets.

What are the inner planets?

The system’s planets are divided into small warm (inner) and cold gas giants (outer). The first species contains Mercury, Venus, Mars and Earth. Outside – Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune. The inner planets have a solid core composed of metals, gases (oxygen, hydrogen and more), silicon and other heavy elements. The largest are Earth and Venus, with sizes 1 and 0, 81, respectively. Earth and Mars have natural satellites. In particular, the “blue” planet has the moon, and the “red” world has Phobos and Demos, which means “fear” and “horror.” The name of the satellites on Mars is because the object was named after the war god Mars (aka Ares).

 Inner Planets
Inner Planets

The inner planets are much smaller than the gas giants.

The inner and outer planets are separated by a wide asteroid belt that extends between Mars and Jupiter. Solid planets do not have asteroid debris, gas, and dust rings, unlike gas giants. Uranus’s minor gas planet is 14 times larger than the most significant “warm” planet – Earth.

In the scientific world, it is believed that the possibility of life or the presence of life on planets such as Earth is greater than that of gas giants. Mainly due to the favorable climate and internal structure of such worlds. In this context, the search for such space objects gets more attention from astronomers and scientists.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *